Scholarship Recipients

2021-2022 Scholarship Awardees

The IAEM Scholarship Commission awarded scholarships to four students in emergency management, disaster management and related programs for the 2020-2021 school year. Congratulations to this year’s IAEM Scholarship recipients.


2021-2022 Scholarship Recipient Progiles

  • Aishwarya Borate is working toward a Ph.D. in Urban Planning and Public Policy at the University of California, Irvine. Her dissertation topic will be on flood risk mitigation in cities in developing nations, with a focus on contemporary India.  During her formative pre-teen years, a devastating flood struck her hometown, taking the lives of over 1,000 people and displacing more than 100,000. This tragic disaster could have been prevented through proactive urban planning and adaptation, particularly in disadvantaged neighborhoods. Witnessing firsthand the overwhelming effects of disaster, Aishwarya is committed to rigorously assessing “what works” to enhance community resilience and accelerate recovery processes. Her past research record is notable. She's conducted research through an NSF CRISP grant, a Virginia Sea Grant Summer Fellowship, and completed a master’s thesis on spatial analysis of housing recovery after Hurricane Sandy. Aishwarya was awarded a $5,000 IAEM Full-Time Graduate Student Scholarship.

  • Madeleine Kruth, the fifth awardee of the Robert C. Bohlmann, CEM, Scholarship for Service in Emergency Management, is enrolled in the honors B.S. degree program in Applied Disaster and Emergency Studies at Brandon University in Canada. She is planning to graduate in 2022. She has served as a Canadian Red Cross volunteer working as a member of the Personal Disaster Assistance Team and the Emergency Response Team. Madeleine has been working as a project coordinator for the Safe Places for Aging and Care Project, which aims to inform violence prevention strategies in long-term care. This collaborative project launched during the global pandemic when the long-term care sector was in significant crisis. Madeleine has played an integral role in project planning, communication, and ethics for this project ensuring that this important work can continue despite challenges. Her goals are to pursue a career in emergency management with a focus on public health. She is particularly interested in working with vulnerable populations, including indigenous groups and undocumented migrants. Madeline was awarded a $4,000 IAEM Undergraduate Scholarship.

  • Brianna Lentz is working toward a M.S. degree in Disaster Resiliency Leadership at Tulane University in Louisiana. She plans to graduate in 2022.She was a member of the AmeriCorps FEMA Corps team between 2018-2019. Over the course of her service term, she completed many different projects related to disaster response, recovery, and mitigation for two different FEMA Regional Offices (Regions 4 and 6). After Hurricane Florence, she was stationed at a branch office in North Carolina working in the external affairs department. Following the 2019 wildfires, she was stationed at the Joint Field Office in Sacramento working in the planning section. Brianna served as the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas Business Continuity Intern during 2019. Biranna was awarded a $5,000 IAEM Full-Time Graduate Student Scholarship.

  • Michael Prasad, CEM, plans to complete his Master’s in Emergency and Disaster Management at American Public University in December 2022. He is the fourth awardee of the Samuel Henry Prince IAEM Scholarship funded by IAEM-Canada. Michael has been active with the American Red Cross since 2008, both as a volunteer and as a paid employee. He has supported the Disaster Cycle Services that entire time, through direct front-line disaster response, as well as leading preparedness and recovery missions throughout the state of New Jersey. From 2017-2020, Michael as the assistant director for the Office of Emergency Management at the New Jersey Department of Children and Facilities. He is the current IAEM-USA Region 2 vice president and was the winning designer of the region’s challenge coin. Michael received a $2,750 IAEM Scholarship.

Previous IAEM Scholarship Recipients

Download a chart of past recipients of IAEM Scholarships.

CEM® and AEM® are registered trademarks of the International Association of Emergency Managers.