Certification Commission

Certification Commission

The Certification Commission is composed of representatives nominated by their respective sponsoring Council Board and approved by the USA Board. There are 18-30 Commission seats depending on workload/volume of applicants.

The Certification Commission reflects the spectrum of emergency management expertise, including all levels of governmental emergency management programs (local, state, tribal, federal) and all environments of practice including but not limited to private sector, military installations, not-for-profit/volunteer-based, campuses and healthcare organizations. This ensures that all candidates are peer-reviewed. All Certification Commission members must hold a current CEM certification.

The Certification Commission is a peer-review body and ensures that the Certification Program remains open, fair and impartial; retains integrity; and implements the mission of emergency management by certifying that successful applicants have met the minimum standards outlined in the program. See the listing of Past Certification Commission Chairs.

Certification Commissioners (as of Jan. 1, 2023)

Commission Chair

Glenn H. Jones, CEM Emergency Management Coordinator City of Peoria Peoria, AZ  623-773-5207

Commission Vice Chair

Jon Fessler, CEM
Director of Environmental Health and Safety
Fox Corporation
Simi Valley, CA


Class of 2025

Jon Fessler, CEM
Director of Environmental Health and Safety
Fox Corporation
Simi Valley, CA
Second Term – Private Industry

Jason Higginbotham, CEM, LEM
Director of Emergency Management
Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans
New Orleans, LA
Second Term – Academia

Sean Holland, CEM
Manager, Airport Operations Center – JFK
The Port Authority of NY & NJ, John F. Kennedy International Airport
Hampton, NJ
First Term – State

Thomas Ignelzi, CEM
Program Manager
Securing the Cities Program - New Orleans Region
Belle Chasse, LA
First Term – Local EM

Lanita Lloyd, CEM
GA Director
The Salvation Army
Villa Rica, GA
First Term – Non-Profit

Alexander Markowski, CEM
Director of Business Continuity
Take-Two Interactive Software, Inc.
Brooklyn, NY
Second Term – Private Industry

Sarah Miller, CEM
S.K. Miller Consulting
Auburn, WA
(253) 293-5781
First Term – Consultant

Gary Teeler, CEM
Manager - Public Safety Support
Lower Colorado River Authority
Kyle, TX
First Term – Non-Profit

Libby Turner, CEM
Turner Associates, LLC
Lawrenceville, GA
First Term – Federal

Class of 2024

Shad Ahmed, CEM
Emergency Management
Salem, NH
(401) 709-9472
First Term – Local EM

Lawrence Cattano, Jr., CEM
Director OEM
City of Perth Amboy
Perth Amboy, NJ
(732) 324-3850
First Term – Local EM

Daniel Dunn, Jr., CEM
Operations Officer
United States Coast Guard
Daphne, AL
(781) 927-4559
First Term – Military

Heather Long, CEM
Area Emergency Manager
Veteran’s Health Administration
Pittsburgh, PA
(412) 736-0832
Second Term – Healthcare

Kimberly Nagel, CEM
Emergency Manager
INOVA Fairfax Medical Campus
Woodbridge, VA
(703) 919-2162
First Term – Healthcare

Michael Riedy, CEM
ESF11 Regional Emergency Coordinator for Region X
Bothell, WA
(425) 286-9990
First Term – Federal

Class of 2023

Billy Anderson, CEM
Sr. Emergency Management Specialist
Sound Transit
Seattle, WA
(817) 903-6885
One Year Term – Local

Billy (B.J.) Dvorak, CEM
Emergency Management Coordinator
Linn County Emergency Management
Cedar Rapids, IA
First Term – At-Large

Carlos Garcia, CEM
Director, IUPUI Campus
Emergency Management & Continuity
Indianapolis, IN
Second Term – Campus

Peter Hirai, CEM
Emergency Management Specialist
U.S. Army Pacific
Honolulu, HI
First Term – Military

Glenn H. Jones, CEM
Emergency Management Coordinator
City of Peoria
Peoria, AZ 
Second Term – Local EM

Pamela L'Heureux, CEM
Emergency Manager
Retired local EM; FEMA Reservist
East Waterboro, ME 
Second Term – Local EM

Douglas Mayne, CEM
Senior Consultant, Disaster Management
Witt O'Brien's LLC
Olympia, WA
First Term – Military & State

Patricia A. McIntosh, CEM
Emergency Management Coordinator
College of the Mainland
Texas City, TX 
Second Term – Campus & Academic

Michelle Oblinsky, CEM
VEST Director
Virginia Department of Emergency Management
North Chesterfield, VA
First Term – State

George Patterson, CEM
Emergency Management Coordinator
Winston Salem/Forsyth County Emergency Management
Winston Salem, NC
First Term – Not-for-profit

Michael Ripley, CEM
Global Crisis Management
The Walt Disney Company
Burbank, CA
First Term – At-Large 

Council Representatives

IAEM-Asia Representative
Kyoo-Man Ha, CEM

Adjunct Professor
Inje University
Changwon, Gyeongnam, South Korea
First Term (completing term 12-31-2025)

IAEM-Canada Representative
Shannan Saunders, CEM
Manager, Emergency Management
Durham College & UOIT
Second Term (completing term 12-31-2023)

IAEM-Canada Alternate Representative
Jennifer Smysnuik, CEM

Manager Emergency Management
City of Toronto OEM
Toronto, ON M3C 3N3 Canada
Second Term (completing term 12-31-2025)

IAEM-Canada Alternate Representative
David Day, CEM

Manager, Emergency and Safety Services
City of St. John's
St. John's, NL Canada
(709) 576-2721
First Term (completing term 12-31-2025)

IAEM-Europa Representative
George Karagiannis, CEM

Deputy Secretary-General for Civil Protection
Ministry for Climate Crisis and Civil Protection
Patra, Greece
First Term (completing term 12-31-2025)

IAEM Latin America and Caribbean Representative

IAEM-Oceania Representative
Christopher Ainsworth, CEM, MBA

Executive Officer - Principal Emergency Management - Business Continuity
'raemec' austraia / KP3 Collaboration
Blackwood, SA, Australia 
First Term (completing term 12-21-2023)

Appointments - Ex-Officio

NEMA Representative

FEMA Representative

Lead Instructor
Daryl Lee Spiewak, CEM, CFM

Emergency Action Coordinator
DLS Consulting
Woodway, TX
H: 254-776-7117; C: 254-640-1076
Local EM/military representative since 2005

Board Liaison
Justin Kates, CEM

IAEM-USA 2nd Vice President Director of Emergency Management City of Nashua, New Hampshire USA2ndVP@iaem.com

Staff Liaison
Kate McClimans

Program Manager
International Association of Emergency Managers
201 Park Washington Court
Falls Church, VA 22046-4527
(703) 538-1795

IAEM® and CEM® are registered trademarks of the International Association of Emergency Managers.